Qualifications and Student Requirements
Qualifications to obtain a South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit:
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age to apply for the permit, and not be prohibited by federal or state law from possessing a firearm.
* (Individuals 18 to 20 years old can take the course and receive a training certificate, however the CWP application to SLED must not be sent until the individual's 21st birthday.)
**Non SC Residents must provide documentation showing ownership of property in the state of SC
The applicant must attend a handgun education class, and receive a score of 70% or higher on a written examination and firing range score.
The training course will include statutory and case law relating to handguns, the use-of-deadly force, handgun use and safety, proper storage methods and actual firing of a handgun in the presence of a SLED Certified Firearms Instructor.
***The applicant must bring a handgun which is in safe operating condition and 50-rounds of ammunition to the training course. ***
Qualifications to obtain a Utah Concealed Weapon Permit:
Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;
has not been convicted of a felony;
has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving the use of alcohol;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
has not been convicted of any offenses involving domestic violence;
has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed.
*A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.